Rural Lynx

Public Transit for Charlotte County, New Brunswick

The Southwest New Brunswick Transport Authority Inc. (SWNB TAI) is a new entity that formed in 2015 to establish and operate a scheduled bus service in this region. Back in 2013, a group of community leaders, recognizing the continuing need for a public transportation system to serve the Charlotte County region, formed the Charlotte County Transportation Working Group (TWG). The TWG envisioned a system that would connect the residents of incorporated (municipalities) and unincorporated areas (local service districts) with each other as well as connecting residents and visitors to the City of Saint John.

With initial financial support from the Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation (ESIC) and Regional Service Commission (RSC) 10, tireless work by municipal leaders, strong advocates in Minister John Ames, Minister Rick Doucet, on July 27 2017, the Premier announced that Rural Lynx’s transit proposal is a go with a $500,000 operational investment over two years. The Province is looking at this as a pilot project for regional transportation challenges across New Brunswick. Maritime Bus has partnered with the Southwest New Brunswick Transit Authority and the Southwest New Brunswick Service Commission to deliver this service.

Our Community Partners

  • Charlotte Coastal Region Tourism Association
  • Charlotte Dial-a-Ride
  • Department of Social Development (St Stephen Section)
  • Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation
  • Multicultural Association of Charlotte County
  • Harvey Region Dial-a-Ride
  • HMS Transportation
  • Horizon Health
  • John Howard Society of Charlotte County
  • Pond Deshpande Centre
  • Southwest New Brunswick Service Commission 10
  • St George Taxi
  • Town of Saint Andrews
  • Town of Saint George
  • Town of St Stephen
  • Transportation Atlantic
  • Vibrant Charlotte County
  • Village of Blacks Harbour
  • Village of Harvey Station
  • Village of McAdam

Our Financial Supporters

  • Village of Blacks Harbour
  • Town of St. George
  • Town of St. Andrews
  • Town of St. Stephen
  • Grand Manan
  • Vibrant Communities Saint John
  • Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation
  • Southwest New Brunswick Service Commission
  • United Way Saint John, Kings, Charlotte
  • Province of New Brunswick
Maritime Bus